Commission of Inquiry on Systemic Racist Police Violence: Reflections and Next Steps
Wednesday, March 17
1 pm Eastern time – 6 pm in Geneva (10 am Pacific)
Register to join: https://bit.ly/inquiryevent

This side event will share information about. the International Commission of Inquiry on Systemic Racist Police Violence Against People of African Descent in the United States. The Commission of Inquiry was organized by the National Conference of Black Lawyers (NCBL), the International Association of Democratic Lawyers (IADL) and the National Lawyers Guild (NLG) following the June 2020 urgent debate on racism at the Human Rights Council. In a communication to the UN prior to the urgent debate hundreds of organizations and individuals had called on the UN to establish a commission of inquiry to investigate  racist police violence in the United States, but the Human Rights Council declined the request. The NCBL, NLG and IADL decided to respond to the community’s call.

The panel of speakers includes two Commissioners who participated in the inquiry, and a representative from a leading advocacy group against police violence in the United States. The conversation will be moderated by a member of the Steering Committee that organized the Commission of Inquiry.

Moderator: Kerry McLean, Steering Committee member and international human rights lawyer

Speakers:
Sir Clare K. Roberts, KCN, QC, Commissioner, former  former Attorney General of Antigua and Barbuda, former President of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights

Professor Niloufer Bhagwat, Commissioner, Vice President of the Indian Association of Lawyers and of  the Confederation of Lawyers for Asia and the Pacific region

Collette Flanagan. Founder of Mothers Against Police Brutality

This event is open to the public. Register to attend: https://bit.ly/inquiryevent